Welcome to discussions

Quick Suggestions

• Nazaz_64
    Original poster 1 posts

Not sure if this is a well worn topic, nothing came up in a search. Not sure if others share this opinion, but I find hunting down SHD caches to be an incredibly lame, necessary but immersion breaking chore. Every time I hunt one that leads me to a building with the icon floating several stories up inside the building, with no apparent way to enter the building it pisses me off.

I personally don't like puzzle solving mini games cluttering up my shooter and find it really breaks immersion. At this point in a post apocalypse city pretty much every door and lock would be broken open. Every scavenger's standard kit would likely include a pry bar and bolt cutters, oh and I'm actually carry a shotgun useable for door breeching. As an electrician I can also assure you that shooting a junction box a floor above and 50m away is highly unlikely to open an electric gate, and there's nearly zero chance the grid would be up and running and the the mains would not have been shorted and tripped ages ago.

All these hunts do is motivate me to immediately google videos that show how to enter the building, praise people who make them, curse developers who clearly are in love with Tomb Raider style jumping puzzles and grit and bear my way through a necessary but ridiculous immersion breaking chore.

I get the issue of making them a challenge to obtain. But I would far prefer to having to fight my way to them, or perhaps having them hoarded by non-agent civvies who found them, know them to be valuable but can't open/use them. Perhaps they will trade them for food and water, or a side mission to rescue a friend for them. Anything would be better than the current system.