ubisoft discussions

Quick Suggestions

• XMdead
    Original poster 144 posts

I am fairly new to D2 and I must admit that a lot still confuses me. One of the the things that I find most confusing is the difference between my DC-only and my NY+DC characters. It almost feels like they are completely different games.

• I massively enjoyed the experience of starting from zero in DC and moving gradually up to level 30, then world tiers and eventually to tier 5 level 500. Still a long way to 1000. Also, I quite enjoy the variety of daily and weekly projects, plus the guidance I get as to "what is important to do next" to progress toward completion. On the other hand my experienced friends kept telling me to not waste time doing that since all of the gear I get will be trash once I take the character to NY. And yet, I still find this character's gameplay better so I don't want to ruin it by taking it to NY for juat a day or two worth of added content.
    • So, to check it out I made a new character for NY, got done with the NY story in a day or two and returned to DC expecting the same kind of experience but with better gear. Nope, there is a ton of stuff on my map but zero guidance. Even the simple "priority %" is missing and the variety of projects is far more limited. On the other hand, it seems that there is some point in trying to collect gear and work towards good gear.

So, on to the questions:

• How do the two types of character fit together?
    • Is there any point to play DC-only past level 30 (world tiers and level 1000) if you plan to eventually take the character to NY? Or is it better to keep it as a DC-only character with its own gear?
    • Can a world tier 5 DC-only character use any of the gear from the NY/DC character?
    • Can a world tier 5 DC-only character matchmake for heroic and legendary missions like in NY/DC characters as a way to get worthwhile gear without going to NY?