Welcome to discussions

Quick Suggestions

• GodHasGiven
    Original poster 3 posts

I have played all major games and love this franchise and how it recreates history. I especially loved how Odyssey introduced choices and thus giving you more freedom.
    And although I am a man of faith I have never had any big issues with the freedom the narrative is taking in regards to faith. It is fiction after all. That was until I started playing Valhalla.

What is so good about these games is that you have the choice decide, you can be a brute or you can be stealthy, you can choose to avoid conflict, choose not to kill.

Now in Valhalla it appears that the only way to expand your settlement is by raiding monasteries. The player even encourage his/her crew to "burn everything" and some even worse things about killing Christians. And suddenly it appears my freedom is gone. I can not choose to be stealthy or non-violent here, I can't do it solo because I need help from my crew to open these chests.

And yes it is well known that Vikings raided, pillaged and burned monasteries because of their wealth, but they also had a choice not to.
    And what's worse here is that these actions are on the verge of being religious oppression, something that is very real to many millions living today.

If I ever wanted a choice in a game it would be in this matter, but I don't, because I can't progress into the story unless I choose persecution.

And if you think I'm exaggerating, just imagine if the setting was Vikings against Muslims. Would you raid and burn mosques and cry out "Kill them all"? I think not.